People

The CTRHB was founded in 2017 by senior research faculty at Virginia Tech and the Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute. Current faculty includes pioneers in the fields of decision-making, neuroeconomics, neuroimaging, health behavior change, obesity, addiction, developmental psychology, human behaviors, and more.

Co-Directors

Warren K. Bickel, PhD
Co-Director, Center for Transformative Research on Health Behaviors
Director, Addiction Recovery Research Center
Professor, Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
wkbickel@vtc.vt.edu

Matthew W. Hulver, PhD
Co-Director, Center for Transformative Research on Health Behaviors
Department Head Human Nutrition, Foods, & Exercise,
Associate Professor, Virginia Tech
hulvermw@vt.edu

Faculty

Jeff Stein, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
jstein1@vtc.vt.edu

Fellows

Sheryl Ball, PhD     
Professor and Associate Department Head, Department of Economics,
Virginia Tech          
sball@vt.edu

Isabel Bradburn, PhD        
Research Director, Child Development Center for Learning and Research,
Virginia Tech           
isbrad@vt.edu

David Brown, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise,
Virginia Tech           
brownda@vt.edu

Zhiyong Cheng, PhD          
Assistant Professor, Department of Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise,
Virginia Tech           
zcheng@vt.edu

Pearl Chiu, PhD
Associate Professor
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
pearlchiu@vt.edu

George Davis, PhD 
Professor, Department of Agriculture and Applied Economics,
Virginia Tech           
georgedavis@vt.edu

Brenda Davy, PhD  
Professor, Department of Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise,
 Virginia Tech          
bdavy@vt.edu

Kevin Davy, PhD     
Professor, Department of Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise,
Virginia Tech           
kdavy@vt.edu

Tiffany Drape, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Agriculture, Leadership, and Community Education
Virginia Tech
tdrape@vt.edu

John Epling, MD     
Professor, Family and Community Medicine,
Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine       
jwepling@cariilionclinic.org

Emily Evans-Hoekker, MD           
Section Chief, Reproductive Endocrinology, Carilion Clinic 
eaevanshoekker@carilionclinic.org

Michael J. Friedlander, PhD
Founding Executive Director
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
friedlan@vtc.vt.edu

Madlyn Frisard, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Virginia Tech Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise
frisardm@vt.edu

Deborah Good, PhD           
Associate Professor, Department of Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise,
Virginia Tech           
goodd@vt.edu

Robert Grange, PhD    
Associate Professor, Department of Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise,
Virginia Tech           
rgrange@vt.edu

Mark H. Greenawald, MD, FAAFP
Vice Chair, Academic Affairs & Professional Development,Carilion Clinic Family Medicine; Professor & Vice Chair, Family & Community Medicine, VT School of Medicine; Medical Director of Physician Leadership & Professional Development, Carilion Clinic
markhgreenawald@carilionclinic.org

Samantha Harden, PhD    
Assistant Professor, Department of Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise,
Virginia Tech           
harden.samantha@vt.edu

Valisa Hedrick, PhD, RDN         
Assistant Professor, Department of Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise,
Virginia Tech           
vhedrick@vt.edu

Michael Patrick Jeremiah, MD, FAAFP, SVP
Professor and Chair, Department of Family & Community Medicine, Virginia Tech - Carilion School of Medicine & Carilion Clinic; Senior Medical Director of Population Health, Carilion Clinic

Sallie Beth Johnson, PhD, MPH 
Project Consultant, Family Practice Roanoke-Salem 
sejohnson@carilionclinic.org

Young Ju, PhD        
Associate Professor, Department of Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise,
Virginia Tech          
yhju@vt.edu

Jungmeen Kim-Spoon, PhD
Department Head, Psychology
Virginia Tech
jungmeen@vt.edu

Natalie Klawann, MD        
Assistant Professor, Internal Medicine,
Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine       
nkklawann@carilionclinic.org

Mikhail Koffarnus, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
mickyk@vtc.vt.edu

Vivica Kraak, PhD  
Assistant Professor, Department of Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise,
Virginia Tech           
vivica51@vt.edu

Stephen M LaConte, PhD
Associate Professor
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
slaconte@vtc.vt.edu

Shaheen E Lakhan, MD, PhD, MEd, MS, FAAN           
Chief of Pain Management, Carilion Clinic
Adjunct Professor of Neuroscience, Virginia Tech College of Science
selakhan@carilionclinic.org

Dongmin Liu, PhD 
Professor, Department of Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise,
Virginia Tech           
doliu@vt.edu

Scott McCrickard, PhD      
Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science,
Virginia Tech           
dmccrick@vt.edu

Ryan McMillan, PhD         
Research Scientist, Department of Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise,
Virginia Tech           
mcmillr@vt.edu

Andrew Neilson, PhD        
Associate Professor, Food Science and Technology,
Virginia Tech           
andrewn@vt.edu

Sarah Henrickson Parker, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
separker@vtc.vt.edu

Monica Ponder, PhD         
Associate Professor, Department of Food Science and Technology,
Virginia Tech           
mponder@vt.edu

Carlin Rafie, PhD    
Assistant Professor, Department of Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise,
Virginia Tech           
crafie@vt.edu

Karen Roberto, PhD          
Director, Institute for Society, Culture and Environment,
Virginia Tech           
kroberto@vt.edu

Rick Rudd, PhD      
Department Head Agriculture Leadership Community Education
Virginia Tech
rrudd@vt.edu

Kampbell Salehi, PhD        
Psychologist, Bariatric Surgery Group   
Carilion Clinic
ksalehi@carilionclinic.org

Arnold (David) Salzberg, MD
Director of Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery,
Carilion Clinic         
adsalzberg@carilionclinic.org

Tina Savla, PhD      
Associate Professor, College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences,
Virginia Tech           
jsavla@vt.edu

Richard Seidel, PhD, LCP
Director-Research, Carilion Clinic Psychiatry & Behavioral Medicine-Roanoke
rwseidel@carilionclinic.org

Elena Serrano, PhD           
Professor, Department of Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise,
Virginia Tech           
serrano@vt.edu

Amanda Stewart, PhD       
Assistant Professor, Department of Food Science and Technology,
Virginia Tech           
amanda.stewart@vt.edu

Pamela Teaster, PhD         
Director and Professor of Human Development,
Center for Gerontology, Virginia Tech  
pteaster@vt.edu

Susan White, PhD, ABPP 
Associate Professor, Department of Psychology, Virginia Tech
Director, Psychosocial Interventions Laboratory
Director, VT Child Assessment Clinic
Assistant Director, Child Study Center
Co-Director, Virginia Tech Autism Clinic         
sww@vt.edu

Richard Winett, PhD         
Professor, Department of Psychology,
Virginia Tech           
rswinett@vt.edu

Bin Xu, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry,
Virginia Tech          
binxu@vt.edu

Wen You, PhD        
Associate Professor, Department of Agriculture and Applied Economics,
Virginia Tech           
wenyou@vt.edu

Anisa Zvonkovic, PhD       
Department Head, Department of Human Development,
 Virginia Tech          
anisaz@vt.edu

Administration

Sherri L. Cook
Senior Associate Director for Finance and Administration
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
scook@vtc.vt.edu
Phone: 540-526-2018

Kirstin Gatchalian
Program Manager
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
kmgatch@vtc.vt.edu
Phone: 540-526-2071

Patsy Marshall
Senior Administrative Assistant
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
patsym@vtc.vt.edu
Phone: 540-526-2015

Lucinda Shewchuk, BSN
Research and Grants Coordinator
Human Nutrition, Foods & Exercise Virginia Tech
lucindas@vt.edu
Phone: 540-231-6565

Research Study Personnel

Chesley Ammermann
Research Assistant
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
chebbie1@vtc.vt.edu
Phone: 540-526-2113

Elan Perry
Research Coordinator
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
esp2572@vtc.vt.edu
Phone: 540-526-2044

 

Megan Stuart, MPH
Research Coordinator
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
stuartma@vtc.vt.edu
Phone: 540-526-2110

Jamie Turner
Research Coordinator
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
jamiet7@vtc.vt.edu
Phone: 540-526-2109

Graduate Students

Chris Angiletta
Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise Graduate Student
Molecular and Cellular Science
Virginia Tech

Liqa Athamneh
Translational Biology, Medicine, and Health Graduate Student
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
liqa84@vt.edu

Abby Bellows
Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise Graduate Student
Clinical Physiology & Metabolism
Virginia Tech

Dane Fausnacht
Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise Graduate Student
Molecular and Cellular Science
Virginia Tech

Mordecai Harvey
Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise Graduate Student
Molecular and Cellular Science
Virginia Tech

Jasmine Hayes
Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise Graduate Student
Molecular and Cellular Science
Virginia Tech

Lexie Mellis
Translational Biology, Medicine, and Health Graduate Student
Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
ammellis@vt.edu

Justin Sperringer
Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise Graduate Student
Molecular and Cellular Science
Virginia Tech

Taylor Vashro
Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise Graduate Student
Clinical Physiology & Metabolism
Virginia Tech